Cornbread Cupcakes

Every cook has one of those dishes that they want to make, and they try, try, try every recipe they can find (and some they make up). They waste batch after batch of ingredients on not-quite-right results, but chances are they never completely give up. And sometimes they happen upon just the right recipe.

I think I’ve been trying for about 20 years to make the sweet corn casserole like what was served at the Chi-Chi’s restaurant my husband and I used to visit. It was so good…whenever I was offered two sides, I’d just get double the corn casserole. But no matter how many recipes I tried (and there were many–very many, which is why Big Brother is no fan of corn to this day) I couldn’t get it right.

2014-07-10 17.56.06Then I discovered this Easy Corn Casserole recipe at Family Foodie. It’s exactly what I wanted, but I didn’t have the best of luck baking it in an 8-inch square baking pan.

Results were terrific once I put it into muffin tins, though! This makes for easy serving, and there’s plenty of that extra crunch along the edges. Yummy! Little Brother renamed this recipe:

Cornbread Cupcakes

Makes 24 cupcakes, 12g/carb each

1 box Jiffy corn muffin mix
14 oz. whole kernel corn
14 oz. cream-style corn
4 oz. butter, melted
1 egg

Preheat oven to 350. Combine all ingredients and pour into prepared muffin tins. Bake 25 to 30 minutes. Allow to sit in pan 5 minutes before serving. They will sink a little in the middle, but that doesn’t affect the flavor at all!

If you happen to have leftovers, these reheat well. Just wrap in a foil packet and bake at 350 for 10 to 15 minutes.

(The nutrition-label tool is balking at this ingredient list, so I “carbed this out” the old-fashioned way.)

Comments are welcome!

