Three-Way Taco Topping

My friend Erin McCole-Cupp shared a recipe for Teeny-Tiny Taco Topping as a CatholicMom.com Meatless Friday feature. This recipe was full of flavors I love:  black beans, corn, cilantro, lime and salsa. But I had a big bag full of fresh tomatoes that a friend had given to me from her garden, so when I made this recipe for my family, I used pico de gallo instead of salsa.

I found a bunch of ways to serve this as well. I tried it with multigrain tortilla chips as a “teeny-tiny taco,” which was a delicious and portable meal.

I also served it with regular taco meat, and topped off tacos with this and some lettuce and cheese instead of using sauce and tomatoes. It was very fresh-tasting and enjoyable.

But the way I liked this taco topping best was over rice–and served hot. I sprinkled a little shredded Cheddar cheese on top before serving.

three way tacos CHere’s my version of Three-Way Taco Topping:

1 14-ounce can black beans, drained and rinsed
2 cups frozen corn kernels, thawed
3 medium plum tomatoes (about 1 pound), diced
1/4 cup finely-chopped red onion
2 TBL jalapeno peppers, chopped fine (I used the ones from a jar)
1/2 cup fresh cilantro
juice of two limes (about 1/4 cup)
1 tsp kosher salt
1 clove garlic, minced

Combine all ingredients and chill at least 4 hours to allow flavors to mingle. Stir before serving. This makes 5 servings, about 1 cup each, of taco topping.

Next time I’m trying it with red beans instead of black–or perhaps a combination of the two!

LABEL three way taco serves 5

One comment

Comments are welcome!

