One-Pot Beef and Noodles with Mushrooms

I love to cook, but I hate to clean up the mess I make in the kitchen. When I serve a one-pot noodle dinner, I’ve saved myself from washing an extra pot AND a colander. Maybe I should have titled this “The Lazy Cook’s Special.” Use leftover roast beef or pot roast in this dish.

beef noodle skillet (2)c

One-Pot Beef and Noodles with Mushrooms

1/2 cup onion, chopped
3 TBL butter
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup flour
3 cups beef broth
1/2 cup red wine
2 TBL mustard
1 1/2 cups baby bella mushrooms, sliced
12 oz (1 1/2 cups) cooked roast beef, sliced
3 cups egg noodles (I use wide noodles in this dish)
salt and pepper to taste
garnish: fresh parsley (optional)

Melt butter in a large skillet and add onion, cooking until onion is soft. Add garlic; cook 2 minutes. Stir in flour, then add beef broth, wine and mustard. Bring to a boil. Add mushrooms, roast beef and egg noodles. Cover and cook 20 minutes or until noodles are done. Garnish with fresh chopped parsley, if desired.

Makes 4 servings.

beef noodle skillet (1)c

LABEL beef noodles wine mushroomsRecipe and photos copyright 2015 Barb Szyszkiewicz for Cook and Count. All rights reserved.

3 comments

Comments are welcome!